A second parent adoption allows a same-sex parent to adopt his or her spouse’s biological or adoptive child without terminating the first parent’s legal status as a parent.
The couple must be married for 6 months before the adoption can be finalized. The wedding date is the start of the adoptive placement.
What I need to do for a Second Parent Adoption:
- A certified copy of the child’s birth certificate (long form/microfilm copy), obtained from the local health department, and must accompany the petition. This version of the birth certificate contains the doctor and hospital information.
- If the child to be adopted is in counseling/therapy, a letter must be filed from the treating professional regarding the adoption.
- A certified copy of the petitioner’s Marriage License Abstract/Application (from the Court that issued the license) and divorce decrees (if applicable).
- A certified copy of the original Birth Certificate for the petitioner and parent.
- Provide four Letters of Reference (all letters to include how long they have known the petitioner, a specific reference to the petitioner’s family unit, and an original signature).
- One letter from a clergy member or employer
- If self-employed, a letter from a co-worker
- Three letters from non-relatives (in-laws are considered relatives)
- Any petitioner, who is currently paying child support or owes child support, must provide a statement or printout from the applicable CSEA indicating any monies due and payable.
- All persons residing in the home over the age of 18 (not the biological parent) must submit a completed BCI check, Form JFS 1653 – Medical Statement and Ohio-CR.
When Filing for a Second Parent Adoption:
- All forms must be typed.
- Use full birth names; no initials.
- If there is no middle name, use (NMI) in the spaces provided.
- Make sure all signatures are on all forms.
Fill out and file these forms:
- Form 18.0 – Petition for Adoption of Minor.
- Form 18.3 – Consent to Adoption (from parent listed on birth certificate).
- Form JFS 1691 – ODHS Application for Child Placement (Fill out completely; include all family members).
- Form AD.2.2 – Instructions for Criminal Background Checks and file results.
- Ohio-CR – Instructions and Request for Ohio’s Central Registry on Child Abuse and Neglect and file results.
- Form JFS 1681 – Applicant Financial Statement.
- Form JFS 1653 – Medical Statement for Adoptive Applicant and All Household Members over the age of 18 (within 1 year of filing).
- Form AD.2.2a – Physician’s Report on Child to be Adopted (within 6 months of filing).
- Form AD.2.1 – Order for Home Study Assessment.
- Form 18.1 – Judgment Entry Setting Hearing and Ordering Notice.
- Form 18.7 – Final Decree of Adoption.
- Form HEA 2757 – Certificate of Adoption – State of Ohio Dept. of Health.
- The filing fee is $586 for the first child and $161 for each additional child.
- If you use a credit card, a 3% charge will be added.
- Make checks payable to the “Summit County Probate Court.”
If you choose to have an adoption agency or an approved qualified assessor complete your home study; contact the Court as the cost and instructions vary with each case.