SUMMIT COUNTY COURT OF COMMON PLEAS - PROBATE DIVISION
JUDGE ELINORE MARSH STORMER

Private Adoption

Adoptive Placement needs to be made

A private adoption is used when you seek to adopt a child who has yet to be born or has not been previously placed in your home.  Call Probate Court immediately upon the birth of the child to schedule the hearings.

Because of Ohio Law and the complexity of the process, you must have an attorney or agency representation.  It is important to note that the Court cannot give any legal advice so you should consult with an attorney and licensed Ohio public adoption agency with any legal questions.

Representation by an Attorney is mandatory for all parties, and birth parent(s) must be represented by a separate attorney.  The final hearing will be set after the child has been placed in the home for 6 months and all paperwork has been filed.

 

When Filing for Private Adoption:

  • All forms must be typed.
  • All necessary paperwork must be provided at the time of filing
  • Use full birth-names and no initials.
  • If there is no middle name or initial, use (NMI) in the spaces provided.
  • Make sure all signatures are included on all forms.
  • If your agency requires any documents file-stamped and returned, please provide all copies. The Court only needs originals. All two-sided documents must use the binding position of top bind.
  • Hearing dates and case numbers will be completed by the clerk.

The following guidelines may not be a completely comprehensive list but should help you in the process with your attorney.

An adoption agency or approved assessor must complete Form JFS 1616 – the Birth Parent Assessment, Social Medical History, Form 1673 – Home Study, Form 1699Prefinalization Report, and monthly Post Placement Reports.

 

Attorney for the Adopting Family must file/prepare the following to open the case:

  • Call Probate Court immediately upon the birth of the child to schedule the hearings.
  • Form 1673 – Home Study, with copy of BCI final report (FBI if applicable).
  • Form AD.2.1 – Order for Home Study Assessment (signed).
  • Form AD.2.2 – Instructions for Criminal Background Checks
  • Form AD.6.0 – Pre-Placement Application.
  • Form JFS 1693 – Ohio Laws and Adoption Materials (and case notes.)
  • Form Ohio-CR – Instructions and Request for Ohio’s Central Registry on Child Abuse and Neglect and Results
  • In cases where the birth father is not listed on the adoptee’s birth certificate, you must mail in Form JFS 1695 – Application for Search of Ohio Putative Father Registry to Columbus and file the final search result.
  • Notices of Appearance for both attorneys.

 

For the Birth Parent(s) and their Attorney:

Prepare these forms and deliver them, unsigned, to the Court the day before the relinquishment hearing. They are to be signed at the hearing. Note: The relinquishment hearing is held no earlier than 72 hours after the birth parent assessment.

  • Form 18.3 – Consent to Adoption.
  • Form AD.6.1 – Application for Approval of Placement.
  • Form AD.6.3 – Withdrawal of Consent.
  • Form AD.7 – Addendum to Consent
  • Form JFS 1616 – Social Medical History (signed and containing non-identifying information).

 

Attorney for the Adopting Family must prepare the following for the Placement Hearing:

These forms should be delivered, unsigned, to the Court the day before the hearing is scheduled.

  • Form 18.9 – Petitioner’s Preliminary Estimate Accounting.
  • Form AD.6.2 – Agreement to Pay Expenses.
  • Form AD.6.3 – Withdrawal of Consent.
  • Form AD.6.4 – Entry on Release.
  • Form AD.6.5 or Form AD.6.6 – Entry on Placement.

 

After Legal Placement is granted the attorney for the adopting family must file the following before the Final Hearing can be set.    

  • Certified copy of child’s birth certificate (must be long form).
  • Form 18.0 – Petition for Adoption (filed within 90 days of placement).
  • Form 18.1 – Judgment Entry Setting Hearing and Ordering Notice.
  • Form 18.7 – Final Order of Adoption.
  • Form 18.9 – Petitioner’s Final Accounting (must include separate breakdown of expenses paid to the birth mother).
  • Form 1699 – Prefinalization Assessment (and all monthly Post Placement Reports).
  • Form HEA 2757 – Certificate of Adoption.
  • Form JFS 1616 – Social Medical History (signed and containing non-identifying information).
  • Putative Father Registry – Final Results (if applicable).

 

Filing Fees:

  • Filing fee $314.00 for each child.
  • If you use a credit card, a 3% charge will be added.
  • The attorney fee for the birth parent(s) is the responsibility of the petitioners.
  • Make checks payable to the “Summit County Probate Court.”
  • If after the paperwork is filed and the decision is made to the change the adoptee’s name, an amended Form 18.0 must be filed with Court. The filing fee for this amended form is $30.00.