(Legal Placement has been made)
Notice: Representation by an Attorney is mandatory for all parties, and the birth parent(s) must be represented by a separate attorney.
What I need to do for the Private Adoption:
- Form 18.0 – A Petition for Adoption may be filed if proper legal placement has been made by either legal custody, guardianship, or if the petitioner is a grandparent of the adoptee.
For the Birth Father:
- In cases where paternity has not been established, you must mail in Form JFS 1695 – Application for Search of Ohio Putative Father Registry to Columbus and file the final search result.
- If the father is not on the birth certificate, but paternity has been established, you must provide the Court with a copy of the DNA results or paternity affidavit.
For the Birth Parents:
- If either parent is deceased, a certified copy of the death certificate must be filed.
- If they live out of state and are willing to consent, 18.3 – Consent to Adoption must be filed.
- If they are not willing to consent and consent can be proven not necessary, indicate on the Petition and provide the last known address for each parent. Complete an Affidavit (Civ R 4.4) and Form AD.2.3 – Order for Publication if the residence is unknown.
- If they wish to consent, a notice of appearance must be filed, they must complete a birth parent assessment, and they must appear before the Court for a relinquishment hearing.
For the Birth Parent(s) Attorney:
Prepare these forms and deliver them, unsigned, to the Court the day before the relinquishment hearing. They are to be signed at the hearing. Note: The relinquishment hearing is held no earlier than 72 hours after the birth parent assessment.
- Form AD.6.1 – Application for Approval of Placement.
- Form 18.3 – Consent to Adoption.
- Form AD.6.3 – Withdrawal of Consent.
- Form AD.7 – Addendum to Consent.
Fill out and file these forms/materials:
- Form 18.0 – Petition for Adoption of Minor.
- Certified copy of the long form birth certificate of the child (contains doctor and hospital’s name).
- Certified copy of the custody/guardianship order.
- Certified copy of the Petitioner’s Marriage License Abstract/Application (from the Court that issued the license).
- Certified copy of the original Birth Certificate for the petitioner(s).
- If applicable, a certified copy of the divorce decree and child support orders of both parents and a current CSEA printout if support is being paid out from a previous relationship/marriage (from the Court that issued the divorce decree).
- Form 18.9 – Petitioner’s Account (must be filed with the Petition).
- Form JFS 1691 – Application for Child Placement (include all household members).
- Four Letters of Reference (all letters to include how long they have known the petitioner, a specific reference to the petitioner’s family unit, and an original signature).
- One letter from a clergy member or employer
- If self-employed, a letter from a co-worker
- Three letters from non-relatives (in-laws are considered relatives)
- Form AD.2.2 – Instructions for Criminal Background Checks and Results.
- Form Ohio-CR – Instructions and Request for Ohio’s Central Registry on Child Abuse and Neglect and Results.
- Form JFS 1681 – Application Financial Statement.
- Form JFS 1653 – Medical Statement for Adoption Applicant and All Household members over 18 (within 1 year of filing).
- Form AD.2.2.a – Physician’s Report on Child to be Adopted (within 6 months of filing).
- Form JFS 1616 – Social Medical History (must be submitted prior to the birth parent assessment).
- Form AD.2.1 – Order for Home Study Assessment (signed by attorney). All persons living in the home must be present for the home study, including children.
- Form AD.2.3 – Affidavit and Order for Publication (if applicable).
- Form 18.9 – Final Accounting (must be filed before the final hearing will is set).
- Form 18.1 – Judgment Entry Setting Hearing and Ordering Notice.
- Form 18.7 – Final Decree of Adoption.
- Form HEA 2757 – Certificate of Adoption.
- The filing fee is $714 for the first child and $314 for each additional child.
- If you use a credit card, a 3% charge will be added.
- The attorney fee for the birth parent(s) is the responsibility of the petitioners.